SHECP Council 

Rick Axtell, Ph. D.
Professor of Religion and College Chaplain
Centre College
rick.axtell@centre.edu

Nina Banks, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Economics, affiliate faculty member in Women and Gender Studies and Africana Studies
nbanks@bucknell.edu

Jay Barth, Ph. D. (Chair)
ME & Ima Graves Peace Distinguished Professor
Department of Politics and International Relations
barth@hendrix.edu

Harlan Beckley, Ph. D. (Ex. Officio)
Executive Director, SHECP
beckleyh@shepherdconsortium.org

Kevin Blair, Ph. D.
Professor of Social Work
Niagara University
blairkd@niagara.edu

Lauren Bowen, Ph. D
Provost,
Juniata College
bowenl@juniata.edu

Richard Cancelmo 
Portfolio Manager
Bridgeway Capital Management, Inc.
dcancelmo@bridgeway.com

James Calvin Davis, Ph. D.
Professor of Religion and Academic Director of Poverty and Privilege
Middlebury College

jcdavis@middlebury.edu

Brian Doyle, Ph. D.
Director of the Center for Ethical Concerns and
Associate Professor of Theology and Religious Studies
Marymount University
brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Margaret Finucane, Ph. D. (Immediate Past-Chair & Vice-Chair)
Associate Professor
Tim Russert Department of Communication & Theatre Arts
John Carroll University
mfinucane@jcu.edu

David Gandolfo, Ph. D.
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Furman University
david.gandolfo@furman.edu

Kristin Harper
Director of Service-Learning, Bunting Center for Engaged Study and Community Action
Birmingham-Southern College
kharper@bsc.edu

LTC Meagan Herald
Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics
Virginia Military Institute
heraldmc@vmi.edu

Alan Hull, MD
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs
Jones Day Endowed Chair in Medical Education
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine
hulla1@ccf.org

Andrew Kumpuris, MD
Cardiologist
Little Rock, Arkansas
dkumpuris@aol.com

Julien Mirivel
Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement
Professor of Sociology, College of Social Sciences and Communication
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
jcmirivel@ualr.edu

Carolyn Newton, Ph. D.
Provost
The College of Wooster
cnewton@wooster.edu

Rebecca Todd Peters, Ph. D. (Governing Board)
Professor, Religious Studies
Elon University
rpeters@elon.edu

Howard Pickett, Ph. D. (Governing Board)
Assistant Professor, Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law
Washington & Lee University
picketthy@wlu.edu

Stephanie R. Rolph, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of History
Millsaps College
rolphsc@millsaps.edu

Stephen J. Scanlan, PhD
Associate Professor, Sociology
Ohio University
scanlans@ohio.edu

Ashley Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
Lynchburg College
thompson.a@lynchburg.edu

Katrina Rivers Thompson, Ph. D.
Chairperson and Professor of Child
and Family Studies, Berea College
Katrina_RiversThompson@berea.edu

Alan Tinkler, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Education,
University of Vermont
alan.tinkler@uvm.edu

Jennifer Warlick, Ph. D.
Director, Poverty Studies
Interdisciplinary Minor and Associate
Professor of Economics
University of Notre Dame
jwarlick@nd.edu

Gaynor Yancey
Associate Professor
Diana R. Garland School of Social Work
Baylor University
Gaynor_Yancey@baylor.edu

 

 

Governing Board Members – Elected by the SHECP Council
  • Ex-Officio: Chair, Vice-Chair, & Past-Chair.
  • Louwanda Evans, Ph. D., Associate Professor of Sociology, Millsaps College, evansl@millsaps.edu
  • Connie Snyder Mick, Ph. D., Associate Director for Community-Based Learning, Center for Social Concerns; Co-director, Poverty Studies Interdisciplinary Minor; University of Notre Dame, cmick@nd.edu
  • Rosemary Townsend Governing Board and Treasurer rtownsend004@hot.rr.com
  • Larry Connolly, President, Connolly Family Foundation, jlconnolly9092@gmail.com
  • Peters and Pickett, Council members, as noted above:
  • Ex-Officio, Non-voting: Executive Director

as of 28 November 2016