SHECP Council and Governing Board

SHECP Council and Governing Board 2017-11-06T11:14:24+00:00

SHECP Council 

SHECP Council, Governing Board, Officers, and Standing Committees

Rick Axtell, PhD Professor of Religion and College Chaplain, Centre College, rick.axtell@centre.edu

Nina Banks, PhD Associate Professor of Economics, affiliate faculty member in Women and Gender Studies and Africana Studies, Bucknell University, nbanks@bucknell.edu

Jay Barth, PhD (Immediate Past Chair, Governing Board) ME & Ima Graves Peace Distinguished Professor Department of Politics and International Relations, barth@hendrix.edu

Harlan Beckley, PhD (Ex. Officio) Executive Director, SHECP, beckleyh@wlu.edu

Kevin Blair, PhD Professor of Social Work Niagara University, blairkd@niagara.edu

Jill Bouma, PhD (Governing Board), Chair and Associate Professor of Sociology, Berea College, Jill_Bouma@berea.edu

Lauren Bowen, PhD Provost, Juniata College, bowenl@juniata.edu

Richard Cancelmo (Class of 2018) Portfolio Manager Bridgeway Capital Management, Inc., dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Kim Cosgrove (Class of 2020), Director of PACT’s Therapeutic Nurseries in Baltimore, MD, Cosgrove@kennedykrieger.org

James Calvin Davis, PhD (Governing Board) Professor of Religion and Academic Director of Poverty and Privilege, Middlebury College, jcdavis@middlebury.edu

Brian Doyle, PhD Director of the Center for Ethical Concerns and Associate Professor of Theology and Religious Studies, Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Sarah Farmer (Class of 2020), Associate Research Scholar at the Yale University Divinity School, sarah.farmer@yale.edu

Margaret Finucane, PhD Associate Professor, Tim Russert Department of Communication & Theatre Arts, John Carroll University, mfinucane@jcu.edu

David Gandolfo, PhD Associate Professor of Philosophy, Furman University, david.gandolfo@furman.edu

Katharine Gray Brown, PhD, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Peace Studies and Director, Peace Studies Institute, KLGrayBrown@manchester.edu

Kristin Harper Director of Service-Learning, Bunting Center for Engaged Study and Community Action, Birmingham-Southern College, kharper@bsc.edu

LTC Meagan Herald Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Virginia Military Institute, heraldmc@vmi.edu

Alan Hull, MD Professor of Medicine Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs Jones Day Endowed Chair in Medical Education, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine hulla1@ccf.org

Andrew Kumpuris, MD (Class of 2018) Cardiologist, Little Rock, Arkansas, dkumpuris@aol.com

Julien Mirivel Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement, Professor of Sociology, College of Social Sciences and Communication, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, jcmirivel@ualr.edu

Carolyn Newton, PhD Provost, The College of Wooster, cnewton@wooster.edu

Kelly Nichols (Class of 2020), Principal, Woollard Nichols & Associates, Austin, TX. kelly@woollardnichols.com

Rebecca Todd Peters, Ph. D. (Chair, Governing Board) Professor, Religious Studies, Elon University, rpeters@elon.edu

Howard Pickett, PhD (Governing Board) Assistant Professor, Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law, Washington & Lee University, picketthy@wlu.edu

Elyssa Kilpsch, Internship Director, Millsaps College, klipsem@millsaps.edu

Stephen J. Scanlan, PhD Associate Professor, Sociology, Ohio University, scanlans@ohio.edu

Ashley Thompson, PhD Associate Professor of Sociology, Lynchburg College, thompson.a@lynchburg.edu

Alan Tinkler, PhD (Governing Board) Assistant Professor, Department of Education, University of Vermont, alan.tinkler@uvm.edu

Jennifer Warlick, PhD Director, Poverty Studies Interdisciplinary Minor and Associate Professor of Economics, University of Notre Dame, jwarlick@nd.edu

Gaynor Yancey, PhD Associate Professor, Diana R. Garland School of Social Work, Baylor University, Gaynor_Yancey@baylor.edu

Governing Board Members and Officers

Chair: Rebecca Todd Peters, Elon University, rpeters@elon.edu 

Vice Chair: Louwanda Evans, Millsaps College, evansl@millsaps.edu

Immediate Past Chair: Jay Barth, Hendrix College, barth@hendrix.edu

Jill Bouma, Berea College, Class of 2020, Jill_Bouma@berea.edu

Larry Connolly, President, Connolly Family Foundation, Class of 2019, jlconnolly9092@gmail.com

James Calvin Davis, Middlebury College, Class of 2018, jcdavis@middlebury.edu

Connie Snyder Mick, University of Notre Dame, Class of 2019, cmick@nd.edu

Howard Pickett, Washington and Lee University, Class of 2018, picketthy@wlu.edu

Alan Tinkler, University of Vermont, Class of 2020, alan.tinkler@uvm.edu

Ex Officio (non-voting members)

Atin Basuchoudhary, Virginia Military Institute, Treasurer (Class of 2020), BasuChoudharyA@vmi.edu

Harlan Beckley, Executive Director of SHECP, beckleyh@wlu.edu

Standing Committees

Finance: Alan Tinkler, Chair. Members – Atin Basuchoudhary, VMI (Treasurer); Duke Cancelmo, Alumnus, Washington and Lee University; Larry Connolly, Alumnus, Washington and Lee University; Drew Kumpuris, Alumnus, Washington and Lee University; and Kelly Nichols, Alumnus, Washington and Lee University.

Internships: Howard Pickett, Chair. Members – Kimberly Cosgrove, PACT Therapeutic Nursery, Kennedy-Krieger Institute; David Gandolfo, Furman University; Francile Elrod, Washington and Lee University; Sarah Farmer, Yale Divinity School (Alumna – Berea College, Shepherd Intern); Dorothy Hayden, Virginia Military Institute; Alan Hull, Cleveland Clinic Lerner School of Medicine

Institutional Liaison: James Calvin Davis, Chair. Members – Nina Banks, Bucknell University; Lauren Bowen, Juniata College; Margaret “Peggy” Finucane, John Carroll University; Kristin Harper, Birmingham Southern College; Stephen Scanlan, Ohio University

Program: Jill Bouma, Chair. Members – Rick Axtell, Centre College; Nina Banks, Bucknell University; Kathleen Biddle, Juniata College; Kevin Blair, Niagara University; Lauren Bowen, Juniata College; Brian Doyle, Marymount University; Janelle Ellis-Holloway, Elon University; Margaret “Peggy” Finucane, John Carroll University; David Gandolfo, Furman University; Meagan Herald, Virginia Military Institute; Howard Pickett, Washington and Lee University; Ashely Thompson, Lynchburg College; Jennifer Warlick, University of Notre Dame; Mike Winiski, Furman University

Personnel Committee: Rebecca Todd Petters, Governing Board, Chair. Members – Lowanda Evans, Vice Chair of the Governing Board; Jay Barth, Immediate Past Chair of the Council; Alan Tinkler, Finance Committee Chair.

Nominating: Connie Mick, Chair. Elected Members – Jay Barth and Francile Elrod.