SHECP Council 

Governing Board Members and Officers

Chair: Louwanda Evans, Ph.D., Millsaps College, evansl@millsaps.edu

Vice Chair: Alan Tinkler, Ph.D., Missouri State University

Jill Bouma, Ph.D., Berea College, Jill_Bouma@berea.edu

Richard Cancelmo, Head of Trading, Portfolio Manager, Bridgeway Capital Management, Inc., dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Larry Connolly, President, Connolly Family Foundation, jlconnolly9092@gmail.com

Brian Doyle, Ph.D., Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Connie Snyder Mick, Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, cmick@nd.edu

Rebecca Todd Peters, Ph.D., Elon University, rpeters@elon.edu 

Howard Pickett, Ph.D., Washington and Lee University, picketthy@wlu.edu

Ex Officio (non-voting members)

Atin Basuchoudhary, Virginia Military Institute, Treasurer, BasuChoudharyA@vmi.edu

Brett Morash, Executive Director of SHECP, brett.morash@shepherdconsortium.org

SHECP Council

Rick Axtell, Ph.D., Professor of Religion and College Chaplain, Centre College, rick.axtell@centre.edu

Nina Banks, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Economics, affiliate faculty member in Women and Gender Studies and Africana Studies, Bucknell University, nbanks@bucknell.edu

Brett Morash, Ph.D., (Ex. Officio) Executive Director, SHECP, brett.morash@shepherdconsortium.org

Kevin Blair, Ph.D., Professor of Social Work Niagara University, blairkd@niagara.edu

Jill Bouma, Ph.D., (Governing Board), Chair and Associate Professor of Sociology, Berea College, Jill_Bouma@berea.edu

Lauren Bowen, Ph.D., Provost, Juniata College, bowenl@juniata.edu

Richard Cancelmo, Head of Trading, Portfolio Manager, Bridgeway Capital Management, Inc., dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Kim Cosgrove, Director of PACT’s Therapeutic Nurseries in Baltimore, MD, Cosgrove@kennedykrieger.org

Brian Doyle, Ph.D., Director of the Center for Ethical Concerns and Associate Professor of Theology and Religious Studies, Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Sarah Farmer, Associate Research Scholar at the Yale University Divinity School, sarah.farmer@yale.edu

Margaret Finucane, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Tim Russert Department of Communication & Theatre Arts, John Carroll University, mfinucane@jcu.edu

David Gandolfo, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Philosophy, Furman University, david.gandolfo@furman.edu

Katharine Gray Brown, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Philosophy and Peace Studies and Director, Peace Studies Institute, KLGrayBrown@manchester.edu

Kristin Harper, Director of Service-Learning, Bunting Center for Engaged Study and Community Action, Birmingham-Southern College, kharper@bsc.edu

LTC Meagan Herald, Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Virginia Military Institute, heraldmc@vmi.edu

Andrew Hogue, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Engaged Learning, College of Arts & Sciences, Baylor University, andrew_hogue@baylor.edu

Alan Hull, MD, Professor of Medicine Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs Jones Day Endowed Chair in Medical Education, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine hulla1@ccf.org

Andrew Kumpuris, MD, Cardiologist, Little Rock, Arkansas, dkumpuris@aol.com

Matthew Lawrence, Associate Professor of Sociology, Privilege and Poverty Academic Director, Middlebury College, lawrence@middlebury.edu

Julien Mirivel, Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement, Professor of Sociology, College of Social Sciences and Communication, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, jcmirivel@ualr.edu

Carolyn Newton, Ph.D., Provost, The College of Wooster, cnewton@wooster.edu

Kelly Nichols, Principal, Woollard Nichols & Associates, Austin, TX. kelly@woollardnichols.com

Rebecca Todd Peters, Ph.D., (Governing Board) Professor, Religious Studies, Elon University, rpeters@elon.edu

Howard Pickett, Ph.D,, (Governing Board) Assistant Professor, Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law, Washington & Lee University, picketthy@wlu.edu

Elyssa Kilpsch, Internship Director, Millsaps College, klipsem@millsaps.edu

Stephen J. Scanlan, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Sociology, Ohio University, scanlans@ohio.edu

Ashley Thompson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Sociology, Lynchburg College, thompson.a@lynchburg.edu

Alan Tinkler, Ph.D., (Vice Chair, Governing Board) Associate Professor, Department of English, Missouri State University

Jennifer Warlick, Ph.D., Director, Poverty Studies Interdisciplinary Minor and Associate Professor of Economics, University of Notre Dame, jwarlick@nd.edu

Updated July 16, 2019