Board Members

Board Members 2017-04-27T17:47:33+00:00

SHECP Council 

Rick Axtell, Ph. D.
Professor of Religion and College Chaplain
Centre College

Nina Banks, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Economics, affiliate faculty member in Women and Gender Studies and Africana Studies

Jay Barth, Ph. D. (Chair)
ME & Ima Graves Peace Distinguished Professor
Department of Politics and International Relations

Harlan Beckley, Ph. D. (Ex. Officio)
Executive Director, SHECP

Kevin Blair, Ph. D.
Professor of Social Work
Niagara University

Lauren Bowen, Ph. D
Juniata College

Richard Cancelmo 
Portfolio Manager
Bridgeway Capital Management, Inc.

James Calvin Davis, Ph. D.
Professor of Religion and Academic Director of Poverty and Privilege
Middlebury College

Brian Doyle, Ph. D.
Director of the Center for Ethical Concerns and
Associate Professor of Theology and Religious Studies
Marymount University

Margaret Finucane, Ph. D. (Immediate Past-Chair & Vice-Chair)
Associate Professor
Tim Russert Department of Communication & Theatre Arts
John Carroll University

David Gandolfo, Ph. D.
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Furman University

Kristin Harper
Director of Service-Learning, Bunting Center for Engaged Study and Community Action
Birmingham-Southern College

LTC Meagan Herald
Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics
Virginia Military Institute

Alan Hull, MD
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs
Jones Day Endowed Chair in Medical Education
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine

Andrew Kumpuris, MD
Little Rock, Arkansas

Julien Mirivel
Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement
Professor of Sociology, College of Social Sciences and Communication
University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Carolyn Newton, Ph. D.
The College of Wooster

Rebecca Todd Peters, Ph. D. (Governing Board)
Professor, Religious Studies
Elon University

Howard Pickett, Ph. D. (Governing Board)
Assistant Professor, Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law
Washington & Lee University

Stephanie R. Rolph, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of History
Millsaps College

Stephen J. Scanlan, PhD
Associate Professor, Sociology
Ohio University

Ashley Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
Lynchburg College

Katrina Rivers Thompson, Ph. D.
Chairperson and Professor of Child
and Family Studies, Berea College

Alan Tinkler, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Education,
University of Vermont

Jennifer Warlick, Ph. D.
Director, Poverty Studies
Interdisciplinary Minor and Associate
Professor of Economics
University of Notre Dame

Gaynor Yancey
Associate Professor
Diana R. Garland School of Social Work
Baylor University



Governing Board Members – Elected by the SHECP Council
  • Ex-Officio: Chair, Vice-Chair, & Past-Chair.
  • Louwanda Evans, Ph. D., Associate Professor of Sociology, Millsaps College,
  • Connie Snyder Mick, Ph. D., Associate Director for Community-Based Learning, Center for Social Concerns; Co-director, Poverty Studies Interdisciplinary Minor; University of Notre Dame,
  • Rosemary Townsend Governing Board and Treasurer
  • Larry Connolly, President, Connolly Family Foundation,
  • Peters and Pickett, Council members, as noted above:
  • Ex-Officio, Non-voting: Executive Director

as of 28 November 2016