Executive Director: Timothy M. Diette

Tim Diette joined SHECP in October 2021 as its executive director. He served in the Office of the President as the Senior Advisor to the President for Strategic Analysis from 2018 to 2021. For the 2020-21 academic year, he also served as the acting director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability. Previously, he served as the Associate Dean of the Williams School of Commerce, Economics, and Politics and as the acting head of the Economics Department.

Professor Diette joined Washington and Lee University in 2004 as a visiting professor in the Economics Department and as a tenure-track faculty member in 2006. He is also a faculty member of the Africana Studies Program, the Education Studies Program, and the Shepherd Poverty Program. He has previous experience working in the Finance Departments at Bank of America and Wachovia followed by a stint as an Economist for the North Carolina Department of Revenue. He has been a Visiting Research Scholar at The Melbourne Institute of Applied Economics and Social Research in the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne and a Visiting Research Fellow with The Research Network on Racial and Ethnic Inequality in the Social Science Research Institute at Duke University. He testified before a Canadian House of Commons committee regarding poverty reduction strategies and the adverse psychological consequences of exposure to unemployment. Outside of the university, he is the chair of the school board for the Lexington City Schools.

Diette has taught courses on the economics of education and health economics. In this new role, he will teach the interdisciplinary introduction to poverty and human capability and a new course on race, class, and education policy. His research focuses on a range of issues related to race, poverty, and inequality in the areas of education, health, and social policy. Tim.Diette@shepherdconsortium.org

Assistant Director of Grants and Engagement: Jen Handy

Jen Handy joined SHECP in December 2021 as Assistant Director of Grants and Engagement. Since graduating from Vanderbilt University in 2007, Jen has spent her career in nonprofit leadership roles spearheading anti-poverty initiatives. Prior to joining SHECP, Jen was the Executive Director of the Rockbridge Area Relief Association (RARA) in Lexington, VA, where she led her team in reimagining all aspects of RARA’s organizational structure, programming, outreach, partnerships with universities and within the community. Also, Jen worked as a nonprofit consultant for the United Way of Rockbridge, where she conducted feasibility studies and designed new programming to support local nonprofits in the fulfillment of their missions. jen.handy@shepherdconsortium.org

 

Assistant Director of Internships: Lia Brooke

Lia Brooke joined SHECP in December 2021 as Assistant Director of Internships. Lia earned her bachelor’s degree from Brigham Young University – Idaho and her master’s degree from Hollins University. Prior to joining SHECP, Lia held numerous positions at Southern Virginia University including Enrollment Manager, Admissions Director, and most recently Director of the Personal Learning Center. lia.brooke@shepherdconsortium.org

 

 

Administrative Assistant: Cassie McCulloch

Cassie McCulloch joined SHECP in December 2021 as Administrative Assistant. Cassie earned her bachelor’s degree from Norwich University and she is currently completing her master’s degree in public administration with a concentration in public policy and analytics. Prior to joining SHECP, Cassie served in the U.S. Army as a Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Officer.  cassie.mcculloch@shepherdconsortium.org

 

 


Governing Board

Chair: Kristin Harper, Birmingham-Southern College, kharper@bsc.edu

Immediate Past Chair: Brian Doyle, Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Vice Chair: Mindy Wilson

Treasurer: Richard Cancelmo, Bridgeway Capital Management, dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Secretary: Andrew Hogue, Baylor University, andrew_hogue@baylor.edu

Ex officio: Tim Diette, Shepherd Consortium,  tim.diette@shepherdconsortium.org 

Margaret Finucane, John Carroll University, mfinucane@jcu.edu

Andrew Kumpuris, Cardiologist, Little Rock, AR, dkumpuris@aol.com

Matthew Lawrence, Middlebury College, lawrence@middlebury.edu

Tiffanie Spencer, University of Vermont, tiffanie.spencer@uvm.edu

Sarah Worley, Juniata College, worley@juniata.edu


SHECP Council 2021-2022

Nina Banks, Bucknell University, nbanks@bucknell.edu

Atin Basu Choudhary, Virginia Military Institute, BasuChoudharyA@vmi.edu

Lauren Bowen, Juniata College, bowenl@juniata.edu

Katy Gray Brown, Manchester University, klgraybrown@manchester.edu

Stephanie Rolph, Millsaps College, rolphsc@millsaps.edu

Richard Cancelmo, Bridgeway Capital Management, dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Larry Connolly, Connolly Family Foundation, jlconnolly9092@gmail.com

Kim Cosgrove, Kennedy Krieger Institute, Baltimore, cosgrove@kennedykrieger.org

Brian Doyle, Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Cindy Ferguson, University of Lynchburg, ferguson_cd@lynchburg.edu

Margaret Finucane, John Carroll University, mfinucane@jcu.edu

David Gandolfo, Furman University, david.gandolfo@furman.edu

Marina Giannirakis, SHECP Alumna, mgiannirakis17@jcu.edu

Kristin Harper, Birmingham-Southern College, kharper@bsc.edu

Andrew Hogue, Baylor University, andrew_hogue@baylor.edu

Andrew Kumpuris, Cardiologist, Little Rock, AR, dkumpuris@aol.com

Matthew Lawrence, Middlebury College, lawrence@middlebury.edu

Elizabeth Lee, SHECP Alumna, lee.elizabeth94@gmail.com

Jaziah Masters, SHECP Alumnus, mastersbjaziah@gmail.com

Howard Pickett, Washington & Lee University, picketthy@wlu.edu

Connie Snyder Mick, University of Notre Dame, cmick@nd.edu

Danny Murray, SHECP Alumnus, dfmurrayiv@gmail.com

Rebecca Todd Peters, Elon University, rpeters@elon.edu

Wesley Saintilnord, SHECP Alumnus, saintilnordwesleynuack@yahoo.fr

Stephen J. Scanlan, Ohio University, scanlans@ohio.edu

Tiffanie Spencer, University of Vermont, tiffanie.spencer@uvm.edu

Christina Willemsen, Hamilton College, cwillems@hamilton.edu

Sara Whipple, Virginia Military Institute, whippless@vmi.edu

Mindy Wilson, Centre College, mindy.wilson@centre.edu

Ana “Monica” Yepes-Rios, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, yepesra@ccf.org

 

 

Updated March 4, 2022

Scroll to Top