Academic Director: Stephanie Rolph

Stephanie Rolph joined SHECP in July 2017 as its first academic director. She is Associate Professor of History and Director of Experiential Learning and Strategic Initiatives at Millsaps College in Jackson, Mississippi. A native of Mississippi, Stephanie received her Ph.D. from Mississippi State University in 2009.  An active scholar of the post-1945 American South, her work has appeared in The Right Side of the Sixties, Journal of Women’s History, and Journal of Southern History. Her first book, Resisting Equality: The Citizens’ Council, 1954-1989 (Louisiana State University Press, 2018) was recognized as the 2019 Book of the Year by the Mississippi Historical Society. She has also been awarded the Humanities Scholar Award by the Mississippi Humanities Council, and the Rabbi Perry Nussbaum Civil Justice Award. rolphsc@shepherdconsortium.org

Alumni Engagement Specialist: Danielle Breidung Quat

Danielle Breidung Quat is a graduate of Washington and Lee University and an alumna of the SHECP program. During the summer of 2011, she completed a SHECP/Kemper internship at Mujeres Latinas en Acción, a Chicago-based organization that strives to empower Latinas through service and advocacy. In Lexington, Danielle was a Bonner Scholar, a regular volunteer at the Campus Kitchen Project, an English tutor with English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), and a Spanish teacher/volunteer coordinator at Fairfield Elementary School with the Rockbridge Teacher Education Consortium. In 2011, Danielle conducted a community-based research project about Latinos’ access to social services in Rockbridge County, VA that informed her poverty and human capability studies capstone. Since graduating in December 2012, Danielle has been busy exporting superfruits from the Brazilian Amazon, serving with AmeriCorps VISTA, consulting nonprofit organizations in South Carolina, participating in fellowships in Asia, visiting all 50 U.S. states, and pursuing additional education in the fields of international higher education, social work, and nonprofit management. Danielle is passionate about empowering women and girls. She is currently a member of Wellspring Living’s Young Professionals Board, a CASA (Court-Appointed Special Advocate for Children), and a volunteer at the Mediation Center of the Coastal Empire. Danielle previously served as president of the Rotary Club of Bluffton. danielle@shepherdconsortium.org

 

Governing Board

Chair: Kristin Harper, Birmingham-Southern College, kharper@bsc.edu

Immediate Chair: Brian Doyle, Ph.D., Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Vice Chair: Mindy Wilson, Centre College, mindy.wilson@centre.edu

Treasurer: Atin Basu Choudhary, Ph.D., Virginia Military Institute, BasuChoudharyA@vmi.edu

Richard Cancelmo, Bridgeway Capital Management, dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Tim Diette, Ph.D., Washington and Lee University, diettet@wlu.edu

Margaret Finucane, Ph.D., John Carroll University, mfinucane@jcu.edu

Andrew Hogue, Ph.D., Baylor University, andrew_hogue@baylor.edu

Andrew Kumpuris, MD, Cardiologist, Little Rock, AR, dkumpuris@aol.com

Matthew Lawrence, Ph.D., Middlebury College, lawrence@middlebury.edu

Tiffanie Spencer, University of Vermont, tiffanie.spencer@uvm.edu

Sara Worley, Ph.D., Juniata College, worley@juniata.edu

SHECP Council

Nina Banks, Ph.D., Bucknell University, nbanks@bucknell.edu

Atin Basu Choudhary, Ph.D., Virginia Military Institute, BasuChoudharyA@vmi.edu

Kevin Blair, Ph.D., Niagara University, blairkd@niagara.edu

Lauren Bowen, Ph.D., Juniata College, bowenl@juniata.edu

Katy Gray Brown, Ph.D., Manchester University, klgraybrown@manchester.edu

Richard Cancelmo, Bridgeway Capital Management, dcancelmo@bridgeway.com 

Joel Clark, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison, jclark24@wisc.edu

Larry Connolly, Connolly Family Foundation, jlconnolly9092@gmail.com

Kim Cosgrove, Kennedy Krieger Institute, Baltimore, MD, cosgrove@kennedykrieger.org

Brian Doyle, Ph.D., Marymount University, brian.doyle@marymount.edu

Cindy Ferguson, University of Lynchburg, ferguson_cd@lynchburg.edu

Margaret Finucane, Ph.D., John Carroll University, mfinucane@jcu.edu

David Gandolfo, Ph.D., Furman University, david.gandolfo@furman.edu

Kristin Harper, Birmingham-Southern College, kharper@bsc.edu

Sean Herring, Ph.D., Missouri State University, seanherring@missouristate.edu

Andrew Hogue, Ph.D., Baylor University, andrew_hogue@baylor.edu

Elyssa Klipsch, Millsaps College, klipsem@millsaps.edu

Brooke Krause, Ph.D., The College of Wooster, bkrause@wooster.edu

Andrew Kumpuris, MD, Cardiologist, Little Rock, AR, dkumpuris@aol.com

Matthew Lawrence, Ph.D., Middlebury College, lawrence@middlebury.edu

Connie Snyder Mick, Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, cmick@nd.edu

Cathy McConnell, Ph.D., The College of Wooster, cmcconnell@wooster.edu

Kelly Nichols, Woollard Nichols & Associates, Austin, TX, kelly@woollardnichols.com

Rebecca Todd Peters, Ph.D., Elon University, rpeters@elon.edu

Howard Pickett, Ph.D, Washington & Lee University, picketthy@wlu.edu

Stephen J. Scanlan, Ph.D., Ohio University, scanlans@ohio.edu

Tiffanie Spencer, Ph.D., University of Vermont, tiffanie.spencer@uvm.edu

Alan Tinkler, Ph.D., Missouri State University, AlanTinkler@MissouriState.edu

Christina Willemsen, Hamilton College, cwillems@hamilton.edu

Sara Whipple, Virginia Military Institute, whippless@vmi.edu

Mindy Wilson, Centre College, mindy.wilson@centre.edu

Andrea Woodward, Ph.D., Berea College, woodwarda@berea.edu

Ana “Monica” Yepes-Rios, MD,  Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, yepesra@ccf.org

 

 

Updated September 20, 2021

Scroll to Top